Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Banco Popular De Puerto Rico

Visa AA Signature Plus ENU (VI)12

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 16.74%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Visa AA Signature Plus ENU (VI)12
Purchase APR16.74% (variable)
Introductory APR1.99% for 6 months
Cash advance APR27.74%
Annual fee$50
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Balance transfer fee2% of the amount of each transfer (minimum $2; maximum $10)
Grace period21 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The Visa AA Signature Plus ENU (VI)12 2025 filing from Banco Popular De Puerto Rico sets out a 16.74% purchase APR, a $50 annual fee and a 1.99% introductory rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 19th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

On the face of the filing

What follows is drawn entirely from Banco Popular De Puerto Rico's CFPB filing for Visa AA Signature Plus ENU (VI)12 2025. The filing runs ten pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.

What the promotional rate is worth

The introductory rate is 1.99%, held for six months. It is a discount rather than a holiday — interest still accrues, just more slowly than the go-to rate.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 1.99% sits at about the 66th percentile.

Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 16.74%, which turns a lingering $3,000 balance into approximately $547 of annual interest.

Pricing the purchase rate

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 16.74% lands at the 19th percentile; it sits well down in the cheaper fifth of the set.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.

What a balance actually costs

A $1,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $182 in interest at this purchase rate.

Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $246 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $64 cheaper for the same debt.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $13.85.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

Fees, and what triggers them

$50 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 88th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

Expressed in the card's own terms, the $50 fee equals about a year's interest on a $299 balance at the disclosed 16.74% purchase rate.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 27.74%. The premium over purchases is 11 percentage points.

Transfers are charged $2 or 2% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. On $3,000 that fee is about $60 before any interest is charged.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

When a payment is late

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

The no-interest path

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

Against the rest of Banco Popular De Puerto Rico's filings

26 separate Banco Popular De Puerto Rico filings appear in the corpus. Pricing across this issuer's filings is uniform at 16.74% — the rate table does not distinguish one of its cards from another.

What the filing does not tell you

Absent from the captured terms: penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Go to the source

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, ten pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

16.74% places this filing at the inexpensive end of the set, which is the headline here. Note that the $50 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Banco Popular De Puerto Rico filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Banco Popular De Puerto Rico, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Banco Popular De Puerto Rico

Other cards from Banco Popular De Puerto Rico

All 26 agreements from Banco Popular De Puerto Rico

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.