Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 35.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 35.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Cash advance fee | 35.99% 0.0986% N/A Talbots Credit Card Purchases 35.99% 0.0986% N/A PIN for AT M |
| Balance transfer fee | 35.99% 0.0986% N/A |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Talbots World Mastercard® Credit Card or Talbots Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements, as filed by Comenity Bank, carries a 35.99% purchase APR and no annual fee. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 97th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
The disclosed terms
The document behind this page is Comenity Bank's filed agreement for Talbots World Mastercard® Credit Card or Talbots Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements. The filing runs 21 pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a penalty rate, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period.
How the purchase rate compares
At 35.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 97th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which is at the extreme upper end of the corpus.
Translating the rate into money
Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,732.
Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $748 a year of extra interest on the same $4,000.
Per statement cycle that is on the order of $120.03 on $4,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Fees, and what triggers them
No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of 35.99% and a cash advance APR of 35.99%.
Balance transfers cost 35.99% of the amount transferred up front and then accrue at 35.99%. Shifting $2,000 across attracts something like $720 in fees on day one.
Default pricing
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
There are 45 filings from Comenity Bank in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 30.24% to 35.99%, and this one at 35.99% is more expensive than 7 of them.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee, a grace period and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 21 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
35.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Bank
-
Ann Taylor Mastercard® Credit Card or Ann Taylor Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Ann Taylor Mastercard® Credit Card or Ann Taylor Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Arhaus Archarge Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
-
Bealls Inc Credit Card Bealls Florida Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- AvantCard Cardmember Agreement Annual INTRO35.99%
- AvantCard Cardmember Agreement Monthly or…29.99%–35.99%
- Central Market Visa Signature┬« Credit…17.24%–35.99%
- Fetch American Express┬« Credit Card19.74%–35.99%
- GameStop Pro Credit Card Current Credit…35.99%
- H E B Visa Signature┬« Credit Card (1)17.24%–35.99%