Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $35.88 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
Analysis
On the record for Carter's® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements: a 35.99% purchase APR and a $35.88 annual fee, filed by Comenity Capital Bank. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.
What this filing discloses
Comenity Capital Bank filed this agreement for Carter's® Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 20 pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
How the purchase rate compares
Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 35.99% lands at the 97th percentile; it sits in the top few percent of the entire set.
The cost of carrying a balance
A $5,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $2,165 in interest at this purchase rate.
Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $935 a year of extra interest on the same $5,000.
Per statement cycle that is on the order of $150.04 on $5,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.
Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $3 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
What the card costs before you borrow
Holding the card costs $35.88 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 84th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
For scale, $35.88 is approximately what $100 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 35.99% rate.
The downside terms
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
Paying in full
A minimum interest charge of $3 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
100 separate Comenity Capital Bank filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 14.74%–35.99%. At 35.99%, this agreement is dearer than 47 of its siblings.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 53 of 89 come in below this card's $35.88.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
The document itself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 20 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 35.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance. Note that the $35.88 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
B&H Payboo Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Ballard Designs Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Banter Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Bed Bath & Beyond Credit Cards Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88