Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Annual fee | $35.88 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
Analysis
The Frontgate Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements filing from Comenity Capital Bank sets out a 35.99% purchase APR, a $35.88 annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.
On the face of the filing
Comenity Capital Bank submitted the terms for Frontgate Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs 20 pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
Pricing the purchase rate
The purchase APR of 35.99% places this agreement around the 97th percentile of the set — it is about as high as anything filed here.
What the rate means in dollars
The purchase rate turns a $2,500 revolving balance into roughly $1,082 of annual interest.
Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $468 a year of extra interest on the same $2,500.
Note the $3 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Fees, and what triggers them
Holding the card costs $35.88 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 84th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
Paying in full
A minimum interest charge of $3 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
What a missed payment costs
A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.
The jump from 35.99% to 39.99% is 4 percentage points, worth roughly $58 extra per year on $1,000 of balance.
The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
This is one of 100 Comenity Capital Bank agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 14.74% to 35.99%, and this one at 35.99% is more expensive than 47 of them.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 53 of 89 come in below this card's $35.88.
What you cannot learn from the filing
This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 20 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
35.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index. Note that the $35.88 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
B&H Payboo Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Ballard Designs Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Banter Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Bed Bath & Beyond Credit Cards Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88