Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 35.99% |
|---|---|
| Penalty APR | 39.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Grace period | 21 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $3 |
Analysis
The Petco Pay Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements filing from Comenity Capital Bank sets out a 35.99% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 97th percentile.
What this filing discloses
Petco Pay Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements is one of the agreements Comenity Capital Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs nine pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee.
Pricing the purchase rate
Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 35.99% lands at the 97th percentile; it is about as high as anything filed here.
The cost of carrying a balance
Put $1,200 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $520.
Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $224 a year of extra interest on the same $1,200.
Month to month it reads as about $36.01 per cycle on that balance.
There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $3, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $3 anyway.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Where the fees are
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
Penalty pricing and late fees
If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.
A default therefore reprices the debt by 4 points: about $117 a year more on $2,000, for as long as the penalty rate stands.
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Paying in full
21 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.
A minimum interest charge of $3 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
Comenity Capital Bank has 100 agreements indexed on this site. The issuer's own range is 14.74%–35.99%. At 35.99%, this agreement is dearer than 47 of its siblings.
34 of the issuer's other 89 disclosing filings are likewise fee-free.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Reading the agreement yourself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs nine pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 35.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Comenity Capital Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Comenity Capital Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Comenity Capital Bank
-
B&H Payboo Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Ballard Designs Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
-
Banter Credit Card Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $3.5
-
Bed Bath & Beyond Credit Cards Current Credit Card Agreements
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 35.99%
- Annual fee
- $35.88
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.