Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Balance transfer APR16.74%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$229
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table discloses a $229 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate.

What the document actually states

JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed this agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 22 pages.

Terms captured from the document include a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A purchase rate and a grace period are not stated.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $229, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 97th percentile.

The filing states the fee is waived for the first year, so the $229 is a second-year cost rather than an immediate one.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 16.74%. Shifting $1,000 across attracts something like $50 in fees on day one.

The filing sets a 3% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $30 to $1,000 spent outside the United States.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

What a missed payment costs

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 29.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 61st percentile.

The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The grace period

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Inside JPMORGAN Chase Bank's filed lineup

JPMORGAN Chase Bank has 26 agreements indexed on this site.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 22 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The $229 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank