Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 10.2%–15.2% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Balance transfer APR | 14.2% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | $0 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10.00 or 4% of the amount of each |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Consumer Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure, as filed by The St. Marys State Bank, carries a purchase APR of 10.2%–15.2%, no annual fee and a 0% opening rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 15th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
The disclosed terms
This page covers the agreement The St. Marys State Bank filed for Consumer Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure. The filing runs 11 pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate, a penalty rate and a grace period are not stated.
This document discloses several products inside a single rate table. That means the numbers below are the ones the table contains, not necessarily the ones attached to this particular card — the filing itself is the only way to tell them apart.
What the promotional rate is worth
The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.
About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.
Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 15.2%, which turns a lingering $2,000 balance into approximately $328 of annual interest.
Pricing the purchase rate
This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 10.2% to 15.2%, a spread of 5 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.
Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 11th percentile and the high end around the 15th — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.
The cost of carrying a balance
Carry $1,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $164 in interest.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $246 on that balance; this one is roughly $82 a year below it.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $12.57.
Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Fees, and what triggers them
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $10 or 4% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 14.2%. Transferring $5,000 would cost roughly $200 at the door.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
Grace period and minimum charge
A minimum interest charge of $1 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
The downside terms
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $0, which is around the 2nd percentile here.
Inside The St. Marys State Bank's filed lineup
The St. Marys State Bank has 3 agreements indexed on this site. The issuer's own range is 15.2%–19.2%. At 15.2%, this agreement is dearer than 0 of its siblings.
The limits of this document
Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, a grace period and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
The document itself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 11 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
At 15.2% the purchase rate is low relative to this corpus, which is the clearest thing the filing has going for it on cost. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried. And because the filing covers several products in one table, even the figures that are right may belong to a different card.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement The St. Marys State Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by The St. Marys State Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from The St. Marys State Bank
-
Secured Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15.2%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Business Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.2%–19.2%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.