Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Vantage Credit Union

Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 14.99%–21.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU
Purchase APR14.99%–21.99% (variable)
Penalty APR32.74%
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period21 days
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU filing from Vantage Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 14.99%–21.99% and a 32.74% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 49th percentile.

What the document actually states

Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU is one of the agreements Vantage Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs six pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

How the purchase rate compares

This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 14.99% to 21.99%, a spread of 7 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.

Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 33rd percentile at the bottom and the 49th at the top.

This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.

What a balance actually costs

Put $3,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $738.

That is almost exactly what a median-priced filing in this index would charge on the same balance, since the corpus median sits at 21.99%.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $54.70 on $3,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Paying in full

21 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

Penalty pricing and late fees

A penalty APR of 32.74% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 68th percentile.

The jump from 21.99% to 32.74% is 10.75 percentage points, worth roughly $141 extra per year on $1,000 of balance.

The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

What the card costs before you borrow

Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $3,000 of overseas spending that is $30, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

There are 19 filings from Vantage Credit Union in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 17.49% to 22.74%, and this one at 21.99% is more expensive than 7 of them.

What the filing does not tell you

This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and an annual fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Go to the source

The original filing, 6 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

21.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Vantage Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Vantage Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Vantage Credit Union

Other cards from Vantage Credit Union

All 19 agreements from Vantage Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.