Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 11.45%–20.45% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Balance transfer APR | 11.45% |
| Cash advance APR | 11.45% |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Cash advance fee | 3.00% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | 2.00% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Visa App and Solicitation Disclosure, as filed by Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 11.45%–20.45% and a 0% opening rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 43rd percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union's CFPB filing for Visa App and Solicitation Disclosure. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs three pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. It is silent on a penalty rate and an annual fee line.
One important caveat sits on top of everything else here: the rate table in this filing covers more than one product. Figures shown on this page may belong to a sibling card in the same table rather than to this one, and only the PDF can settle which row applies.
What the promotional rate is worth
The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.
Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.
Behind the promotion sits a 20.45% purchase rate. On $5,000 that is in the region of $1,134 a year once the window closes.
Where the purchase APR sits
Rather than a single purchase rate, the document gives a band — 11.45% at the bottom, 20.45% at the top, 9 points wide. The agreement discloses the range without disclosing how an account is placed within it.
Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 15th percentile at the bottom and the 43rd at the top.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.
The cost of carrying a balance
Put $5,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $1,134.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $1,229 on that balance; this one is roughly $95 a year below it.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Charges beyond interest
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of 3% and a cash advance APR of 11.45%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 2% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 11.45%. Shifting $3,000 across attracts something like $60 in fees on day one.
The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $15 to $1,500 spent outside the United States.
The no-interest path
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
What a missed payment costs
The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
The issuer's other agreements
This is one of 3 Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union agreements collected here. Every one of the others that discloses a purchase rate discloses the same 20.45%, so the issuer's filings are near-identical on pricing and the differences between its cards lie outside the rate table.
What you cannot learn from the filing
Absent from the captured terms: an annual fee and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Reading the agreement yourself
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, three pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
20.45% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. And because the filing covers several products in one table, even the figures that are right may belong to a different card.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union
-
Visa App and Solicitation Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.45%–20.45%
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Visa App and Solicitation Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.45%–20.45%
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
All 3 agreements from Abbott Laboratories Employees Credit Union
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- 2022 10 01 Application and Solicitation…10.99%–20.49%
- dupage inspire cash back signature truth…11.49%–20.49%
- Visa Inspire Cash Back Signature Truth in…11.49%–20.49%
- Cathay Pacific Visa Signature Card Account…20.49%
- Application and Soliciation Disclosure12.9%–20.4%
- Application and Solicitation Disclosure10.9%–20.4%