Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Column

Bilt Obsidian Card rates and fees

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 26.74%–34.74%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Bilt Obsidian Card rates and fees
Purchase APR26.74%–34.74% (variable)
Introductory APR10% for 12 months
Balance transfer APR26.74%
Cash advance APR31.74%
Annual fee$95
Late payment feeup to $41
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period21 days

Analysis

Column's filed agreement for Bilt Obsidian Card rates and fees discloses a purchase APR of 26.74%–34.74%, a $95 annual fee and a 10% introductory rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 81st percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the agreement puts on the record

What follows is drawn entirely from Column's CFPB filing for Bilt Obsidian Card rates and fees. The filing runs three pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate is not stated.

The promotional period

For the first 12 months the filing sets a reduced rate of 10%. Balances still cost something during that window.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 10% sits at about the 93rd percentile.

What matters more than the promotion is the rate waiting behind it: 34.74%. A $5,000 balance that survives the promotional window costs roughly $2,076 a year from that point on.

The purchase rate in context

Rather than a single purchase rate, the document gives a band — 26.74% at the bottom, 34.74% at the top, 8 points wide. The agreement discloses the range without disclosing how an account is placed within it.

Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 70th percentile and the high end around the 81st — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.

The arithmetic of revolving

At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $415 in interest.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $169 a year of extra interest on the same $1,000.

Month to month it reads as about $28.95 per cycle on that balance.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $95, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 92nd percentile.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $5 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 31.74%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

Balance transfers cost $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 26.74%. On $1,000 that fee is about $50 before any interest is charged.

The foreign transaction fee is zero — a minority position in this corpus, where roughly 22% of disclosing filings waive it.

The grace period

The filing gives 21 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

What a missed payment costs

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

The issuer's other agreements

This is one of 10 Column agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 33.49% to 34.74%, and this one at 34.74% is more expensive than 2 of them.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs three pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

34.74% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index. Note that the $95 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Column filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Column, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Column

Other cards from Column

All 10 agreements from Column

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.