Before you read the numbers.
The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Introductory APR | 1.99% for 12 months |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 6.75% |
| Penalty APR | 18% |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The Visa Prime Plus Application and Solicitation Disclosure and Agreement filing from La Capitol Federal Credit Union sets out a 1.99% introductory rate and a 18% penalty rate.
What the document actually states
La Capitol Federal Credit Union submitted the terms for Visa Prime Plus Application and Solicitation Disclosure and Agreement to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs two pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
Terms captured from the document include a cash advance rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A purchase rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
The introductory rate
A promotional rate of 1.99% applies for 12 months under this agreement — lower than the standard rate, but not free.
Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 1.99% sits at about the 66th percentile.
Crucially, the go-to rate is absent from what could be read out of this filing. A promotional rate without the rate that follows it is only half the pricing, and the PDF is the only source for the other half.
What the card costs before you borrow
Cash advances carry a cash advance APR of 6.75%.
What a missed payment costs
A penalty APR of 18% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 19th percentile.
The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
Paying in full
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
The limits of this document
This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Where the authority sits
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs two pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement La Capitol Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by La Capitol Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from La Capitol Federal Credit Union
-
Visa Rewards Application and Solicitation Disclosure and Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Intro APR
- 1.99%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.