Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 49.9% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Late payment fee | up to $20 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Visa Application and Solicitation Disclosure, as filed by Mecu, carries a 49.9% purchase APR and a 0% opening rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 100th percentile.
On the face of the filing
Visa Application and Solicitation Disclosure is one of the agreements Mecu has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs two pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
The interest-free window
A 0% promotional rate appears in the document without an accompanying term — the length of the window is not captured.
Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.
The go-to rate is 49.9%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $1,293 a year on $2,000.
How the purchase rate compares
The purchase APR of 49.9% places this agreement around the 100th percentile of the set — it is at the extreme upper end of the corpus.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
This figure is the post-promotional rate. The introductory pricing is handled separately further down.
What the rate means in dollars
A $2,500 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $1,616 in interest at this purchase rate.
On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $2,500 would run about $615 a year, so this card costs in the region of $1,002 more annually for the identical balance.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
What a missed payment costs
$20 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 17th percentile of the set.
The grace period
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.
What is outside the disclosure
This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs two pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
49.9% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Mecu filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Mecu, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Mecu
This is the only agreement from Mecu in the database with enough disclosed terms to publish. See the issuer's full filing list.
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.