Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 27.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 27.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 28.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $39 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $4 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | $0 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Tabular Foundation 5 04 23: a 27.99% purchase APR and no annual fee, filed by Simmons Bank. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 67th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
On the face of the filing
Tabular Foundation 5 04 23 is one of the agreements Simmons Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs two pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a penalty rate and a grace period.
How the purchase rate compares
Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 27.99% lands at the 67th percentile; it is dearer than the typical filing.
Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.
The arithmetic of revolving
At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,500 revolving for a full year costs something like $484 in interest.
The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $369. The gap — roughly $115 a year on $1,500 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Default pricing
The maximum late fee is $39 — roughly the 63rd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
The fee structure
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $4 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.99%. The premium over purchases is 1 percentage points. Advances under roughly $133 are charged the flat $4; larger ones are charged 3%.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of a flat $0, with the transferred balance priced at 27.99%.
Foreign transactions attract 2%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $40, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
Against the rest of Simmons Bank's filings
There are 124 filings from Simmons Bank in this index. The issuer's own range is 18.25%–28.24%. At 27.99%, this agreement is dearer than 111 of its siblings.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state a grace period and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
The original filing, 2 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
27.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. The absence of an annual fee means the rate is the only thing that can make this card expensive.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Simmons Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Simmons Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Simmons Bank
-
Tabular Foundation
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 28.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Foundation
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 28.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Foundation
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 28.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Foundation
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 28.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.