Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 17.99%–27.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 17.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 29.74% |
| Penalty APR | 29.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Balance transfer fee | 0.04929% to 0.07668% 11.24% to 21.24% |
| Grace period | 23 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0.5 |
Analysis
Citibank's filed agreement for Citi Strata Student Pricing and Information Table discloses a purchase APR of 17.99%–27.99%, no annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 67th percentile.
What the agreement puts on the record
What follows is drawn entirely from Citibank's CFPB filing for Citi Strata Student Pricing and Information Table. The filing runs two pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. It is silent on a foreign transaction fee.
How the purchase rate compares
Rather than a single purchase rate, the document gives a band — 17.99% at the bottom, 27.99% at the top, 10 points wide. The agreement discloses the range without disclosing how an account is placed within it.
Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 51st percentile at the bottom and the 67th at the top.
Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.
The arithmetic of revolving
Carry $5,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,614 in interest.
The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $1,229. The gap — roughly $385 a year on $5,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.
Month to month it reads as about $116.32 per cycle on that balance.
Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $0.50 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Fees, and what triggers them
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 29.74%. Cash is therefore 1.75 points dearer than buying something with the card. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 0.05% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 17.99%. On $7,500 that fee is about $4 before any interest is charged.
The downside terms
The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.
That is 2 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $1,000 balance, the shift from 27.99% to 29.99% adds something like $27 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Paying in full
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.
A minimum interest charge of $0.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Against the rest of Citibank's filings
This is one of 82 Citibank agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 25.99%–34.24%. At 27.99%, this agreement is dearer than 7 of its siblings.
The document itself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs two pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
27.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Citibank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Citibank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Citibank
-
Citi Simplicity Pricing and Information Table
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 17.49%–28.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
AT&T Points Plus Pricing and Information Table
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 19.49%–27.49%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Citi Custom Cash Pricing and Information Table
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 17.49%–27.49%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Citi Double Cash Pricing and Information Table
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 17.49%–27.49%
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.