Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

The disclosed terms

ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum is one of the agreements Synchrony Financial has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs five pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase rate in context

34.99% puts the purchase APR near the 84th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

Translating the rate into money

Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $628.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $259 a year of extra interest on the same $1,500.

Note the $2 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The downside terms

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $145 extra per year on $2,000 of balance.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

The no-interest path

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 212 Synchrony Financial agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

34.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial