Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

American Car Care Centers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for American Car Care Centers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

On the record for American Car Care Centers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum: a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate, filed by Synchrony Financial. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What this filing discloses

Synchrony Financial submitted the terms for American Car Care Centers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs five pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

How the purchase rate compares

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 34.99% lands at the 84th percentile; it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

The arithmetic of revolving

At the disclosed purchase APR, $2,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $837 in interest.

On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $2,000 would run about $492 a year, so this card costs in the region of $346 more annually for the identical balance.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $58.32 on $2,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

What a missed payment costs

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

Measured in money, moving from 34.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $73 or so annually on $1,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

The issuer's other agreements

Synchrony Financial has 212 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 0% to 34.99%; this filing's 34.99% sits above 35 of the comparable ones.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial