Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Carpeteria Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Carpeteria Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The Carpeteria Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

Synchrony Financial submitted the terms for Carpeteria Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs five pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase rate in context

The purchase APR of 34.99% places this agreement around the 84th percentile of the set — it sits in the expensive end of the corpus.

What the rate means in dollars

Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $628.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $259 a year of extra interest on the same $1,500.

Month to month it reads as about $43.74 per cycle on that balance.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Penalty pricing and late fees

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

A default therefore reprices the debt by 5 points: about $145 a year more on $2,000, for as long as the penalty rate stands.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

The no-interest path

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

Inside Synchrony Financial's filed lineup

212 separate Synchrony Financial filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs five pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial