Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Cooper Mastercraft Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cooper Mastercraft Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Cooper Mastercraft Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum, as filed by Synchrony Financial, carries a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

Synchrony Financial submitted the terms for Cooper Mastercraft Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs five pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase rate in context

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 34.99% lands at the 84th percentile; it lands high in the distribution.

The arithmetic of revolving

Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $628.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $369. The gap — roughly $259 a year on $1,500 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $43.74.

Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $2 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

The downside terms

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $73 extra per year on $1,000 of balance.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

Against the rest of Synchrony Financial's filings

There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Across that lineup purchase rates span 0% to 34.99%; this filing's 34.99% sits above 35 of the comparable ones.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

The document itself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial