Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Metro Mattress Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Metro Mattress Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Synchrony Financial's filed agreement for Metro Mattress Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum discloses a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 84th percentile.

On the face of the filing

Metro Mattress Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum is one of the agreements Synchrony Financial has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs five pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

How the purchase rate compares

Set beside the rest of the index, the purchase APR of 34.99% lands at the 84th percentile; it lands high in the distribution.

Translating the rate into money

Carry $1,200 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $502 in interest.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $207 a year of extra interest on the same $1,200.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $34.99 on $1,200, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

When a payment is late

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

Measured in money, moving from 34.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $145 or so annually on $2,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Grace period and minimum charge

23 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

Against the rest of Synchrony Financial's filings

There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 34.99% is more expensive than 35 of them.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

The document itself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — five pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial