Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

System Pavers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for System Pavers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Synchrony Financial's filed agreement for System Pavers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum discloses a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 84th percentile.

What the agreement puts on the record

This page covers the agreement Synchrony Financial filed for System Pavers Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

The purchase rate in context

Measured against every other filing on the site, 34.99% is about the 84th percentile for purchase APR; it is costlier than the large majority of filings here.

The cost of carrying a balance

Carry $3,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,256 in interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $738 on that balance. This one charges about $518 more per year.

There is also a floor: the filing sets a minimum interest charge of $2, so any cycle that accrues less than that is billed at $2 anyway.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The grace period

The filing gives 23 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

What a missed payment costs

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 39.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 86th percentile.

The jump from 34.99% to 39.99% is 5 percentage points, worth roughly $73 extra per year on $1,000 of balance.

The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The issuer's other agreements

212 separate Synchrony Financial filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 34.99% is more expensive than 35 of them.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial