Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Town Fair Tires Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Town Fair Tires Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Town Fair Tires Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum, as filed by Synchrony Financial, carries a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Synchrony Financial's CFPB filing for Town Fair Tires Credit Card Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

The purchase rate in context

The purchase APR of 34.99% places this agreement around the 84th percentile of the set — it is costlier than the large majority of filings here.

What the rate means in dollars

Carry $4,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,675 in interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $983 on that balance. This one charges about $691 more per year.

Small balances do not get a proportionally small bill — the agreement imposes a $2 minimum interest charge in any month where interest applies.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Penalty pricing and late fees

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

That is 5 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $1,000 balance, the shift from 34.99% to 39.99% adds something like $73 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

Grace period and minimum charge

Purchases carry a 23-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

Inside Synchrony Financial's filed lineup

There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Across that lineup purchase rates span 0% to 34.99%; this filing's 34.99% sits above 35 of the comparable ones.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The defining fact about this filing is the purchase rate: at 34.99% it is in the expensive band of this corpus, and that cost only materialises for someone who revolves a balance.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial