Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Virginia Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Virginia Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

Synchrony Financial's filed agreement for Virginia Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum discloses a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 84th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

On the face of the filing

What follows is drawn entirely from Synchrony Financial's CFPB filing for Virginia Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

The purchase rate in context

34.99% puts the purchase APR near the 84th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it lands high in the distribution.

Translating the rate into money

A $1,500 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $628 in interest at this purchase rate.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $369 on that balance. This one charges about $259 more per year.

Note the $2 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Paying in full

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

The downside terms

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 39.99% — about the 86th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

That is 5 points above the standard purchase rate. On a $1,000 balance, the shift from 34.99% to 39.99% adds something like $73 of interest over a year — the real cost of the default, quite apart from the fee itself.

Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Inside Synchrony Financial's filed lineup

Synchrony Financial has 212 agreements indexed on this site. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 34.99% is more expensive than 35 of them.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

This is an expensive agreement by the standards of the corpus, driven by a 34.99% purchase rate that is inert for a transactor and punishing for a revolver.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial