Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

WG&R Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 34.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for WG&R Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Purchase APR34.99%
Penalty APR39.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$2

Analysis

The WG&R Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 34.99% purchase APR and a 39.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 84th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Synchrony Financial's CFPB filing for WG&R Furniture Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum. The filing runs five pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line are not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 34.99% — sits at approximately the 84th percentile and lands high in the distribution.

The arithmetic of revolving

At the disclosed purchase APR, $5,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $2,093 in interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $1,229 on that balance. This one charges about $864 more per year.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $145.81 on $5,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

What a missed payment costs

A penalty APR of 39.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 86th percentile.

Measured in money, moving from 34.99% to 39.99% costs an extra $145 or so annually on $2,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. With a corpus median of 25 days, this window is narrower than the norm.

The $2 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Inside Synchrony Financial's filed lineup

This is one of 212 Synchrony Financial agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 0%–34.99%. At 34.99%, this agreement is dearer than 35 of its siblings.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

34.99% on purchases is the number that dominates this agreement. Paid in full each cycle it never applies; carried, it is among the dearer prices in this index.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial