Before you read the numbers.
The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Introductory APR | 1.99% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $35 |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Cash advance fee | None |
| Balance transfer fee | None |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Virginia Federal Credit Union's filed agreement for credit card agreement June 2023 discloses no annual fee and a 1.99% introductory rate.
The disclosed terms
Virginia Federal Credit Union filed this agreement for credit card agreement June 2023 with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs four pages.
The filing is explicit about an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
Introductory pricing
The filing discloses an introductory rate of 1.99% but no term for it.
Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 1.99% sits at about the 66th percentile.
The filing captures the promotional rate but not the rate that replaces it. That is the more important of the two numbers, and it is not on this page — the agreement itself has to be read for it.
Fees, and what triggers them
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.
The no-interest path
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest.
No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.
The downside terms
Late payments are capped at $35 under this filing, about the 54th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
The issuer's other agreements
Virginia Federal Credit Union has 15 agreements indexed on this site.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs four pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Virginia Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Virginia Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Virginia Federal Credit Union
-
credit card agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 1.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
credit card agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 1.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
credit card agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Credit Card Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 1.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- None
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.