Before you read the numbers.
The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Balance transfer APR | 13.24% |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 24.99% |
| Penalty APR | 29.99% |
| Annual fee | $149 |
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater. |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater. |
| Minimum interest charge | $0 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Chase Bank USA's filed agreement for COL00078 Southwest Airlines Visa Signature Agreement discloses a $149 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from Chase Bank USA's CFPB filing for COL00078 Southwest Airlines Visa Signature Agreement. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 21 pages.
On the record here: a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a purchase rate and a grace period.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
Where the fees are
Holding the card costs $149 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 96th percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
A first-year waiver applies according to the document — the $149 begins biting in year two.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.
The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 13.24%. On $5,000 that fee is about $250 before any interest is charged.
Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $1,500 of overseas spending that is $45, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
When a payment is late
A penalty APR of 29.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 61st percentile.
$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.
Grace period and minimum charge
The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.
Against the rest of Chase Bank USA's filings
25 separate Chase Bank USA filings appear in the corpus.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 16 of 22 come in below this card's $149.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 21 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
Against that sits the $149 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Chase Bank USA
-
Aer Lingus Visa Signature Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $95
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Amazon Visa Signature Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
British Airways Visa Signature Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $95
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Disney Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $49
- Intro APR
- 24.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- 3%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.