Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Chase Bank USA

Visa Signature or Infinite Agreement (for in branch offers)

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Visa Signature or Infinite Agreement (for in branch offers)
Introductory APR14.99%
Balance transfer APR14.99%
Cash advance APR24.99%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$550
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

COL00098 Visa Signature or Infinite Agreement (for in branch offers), as filed by Chase Bank USA, carries a $550 annual fee, a 14.99% introductory rate and a 29.99% penalty rate.

The disclosed terms

Chase Bank USA submitted the terms for COL00098 Visa Signature or Infinite Agreement (for in branch offers) to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 21 pages.

The disclosure covers a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a purchase rate and a grace period.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

The promotional period

The filing discloses an introductory rate of 14.99% but no term for it.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 14.99% sits at about the 94th percentile.

The downside terms

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 29.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 61st percentile.

The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Where the fees are

The annual fee is $550, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 99th percentile.

Year one is free of the fee per the filing; $550 applies thereafter.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%.

Balance transfers cost $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 14.99%. Transferring $1,000 would cost roughly $50 at the door.

Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $30, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

The no-interest path

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 25 Chase Bank USA agreements collected here.

Its $550 annual fee is higher than 20 of the 22 sibling filings that state one.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 21 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The $550 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Chase Bank USA

Other cards from Chase Bank USA

All 25 agreements from Chase Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.