Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Cinfed Federal Credit Union

MBR Disclosure Mar22

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for MBR Disclosure Mar22
Penalty APR18%
Annual fee$25
Late payment feeup to $33
Foreign transaction fee1%
Minimum interest charge$0.5
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

MBR Disclosure Mar22, as filed by Cinfed Federal Credit Union, carries a $25 annual fee and a 18% penalty rate.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from Cinfed Federal Credit Union's CFPB filing for MBR Disclosure Mar22. The filing runs five pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

On the record here: a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

What a missed payment costs

A penalty APR of 18% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 19th percentile.

$33 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 50th percentile of the set.

What the card costs before you borrow

$25 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 78th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $30 to $3,000 spent outside the United States.

Grace period and minimum charge

A minimum interest charge of $0.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, five pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The $25 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Cinfed Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Cinfed Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Cinfed Federal Credit Union

Other cards from Cinfed Federal Credit Union

All 2 agreements from Cinfed Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.