Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Commerce Bank

AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Balance transfer APR21.99%
Penalty APR23.99%
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee2%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$2.5
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Commerce Bank prices AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from Commerce Bank's CFPB filing for AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.

On the record here: a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and an annual fee line.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Margins, not APRs

The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.

The filing's margin figures come to 21.99 points for balance transfers and 23.99 points for penalty pricing.

The 2-point spread between the cheapest and dearest of those margins is the part that stays constant: whatever Prime does, that gap between balance types travels with it.

Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

What a missed payment costs

The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The fee structure

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.

A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $7,500 across attracts something like $375 in fees on day one.

Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $30 on $1,500 of purchases, independent of interest.

The grace period

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

The issuer's other agreements

This is one of 165 Commerce Bank agreements collected here.

The limits of this document

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and an annual fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

What can be said is how this card is priced, not what it costs. That distinction is the whole of the analysis here, and the agreement is the place to confirm the index it uses.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Commerce Bank

Other cards from Commerce Bank

All 165 agreements from Commerce Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.