Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

ESL Federal Credit Union

Rewards Credit Card Rate Information

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 12.75%–17.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Rewards Credit Card Rate Information
Purchase APR12.75%–17.99% (variable)
Introductory APR0% for 12 months
Penalty APR18%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Grace period25 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Rewards Credit Card Rate Information, as filed by ESL Federal Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 12.75%–17.99%, no annual fee, a 12-month 0% opening period and a 18% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 28th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the document actually states

This page covers the agreement ESL Federal Credit Union filed for Rewards Credit Card Rate Information. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs two pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee.

The promotional period

The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate running 12 months. For that window, balances covered by the promotion accrue no interest at all.

About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.

The go-to rate is 17.99%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $591 a year on $3,000.

The promotional window is therefore worth something on the order of $591 on $3,000, measured against the same balance priced at the standard rate for the same period.

Where the purchase APR sits

Purchases price between 12.75% and 17.99% under this filing. The 5.24-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.

The floor of that band sits at about the 22nd percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 28th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

This figure is the post-promotional rate. The introductory pricing is handled separately further down.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,200 revolving for a full year costs something like $236 in interest.

Measured against the 21.99% corpus median, the same $1,200 costs approximately $59 less per year here.

Month to month it reads as about $17.87 per cycle on that balance.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The grace period

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The downside terms

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 18% — about the 19th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

Late payments are capped at $25 under this filing, about the 32nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Charges beyond interest

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

Inside ESL Federal Credit Union's filed lineup

This is one of 8 ESL Federal Credit Union agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 16.25%–17.99%. At 17.99%, this agreement is dearer than 1 of its siblings.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, two pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.99% on purchases is near enough to typical. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement ESL Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by ESL Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to ESL Federal Credit Union

Other cards from ESL Federal Credit Union

All 8 agreements from ESL Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.