Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

First Bank & Trust

Best Western Rewards Visa Signature

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 25.99%–29.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Best Western Rewards Visa Signature
Purchase APR25.99%–29.99%
Balance transfer APR25.99%
Cash advance APR0.08%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $15
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 4% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$1.5
NetworkVisa

Analysis

First Bank & Trust's filed agreement for Best Western Rewards Visa Signature discloses a purchase APR of 25.99%–29.99% and no annual fee. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 74th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from First Bank & Trust's CFPB filing for Best Western Rewards Visa Signature. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs ten pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a penalty rate.

Where the purchase APR sits

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 25.99% to 29.99%. That 4-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 70th percentile at the bottom and the 74th at the top.

Translating the rate into money

A $2,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $699 in interest at this purchase rate.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $492 on that balance. This one charges about $207 more per year.

Month to month it reads as about $49.89 per cycle on that balance.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Paying in full

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

The $1.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Default pricing

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $15, which is around the 11th percentile here.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 0.08%. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.

The transfer fee is $5 or 4% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 25.99%. Shifting $1,000 across attracts something like $40 in fees on day one.

The foreign transaction fee is zero — a minority position in this corpus, where roughly 22% of disclosing filings waive it.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

12 separate First Bank & Trust filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 29.99% to 35.99%, and this one at 29.99% is more expensive than 0 of them.

6 of the issuer's other 7 disclosing filings are likewise fee-free.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Go to the source

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, ten pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

At 29.99% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement First Bank & Trust filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by First Bank & Trust, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to First Bank & Trust

Other cards from First Bank & Trust

All 12 agreements from First Bank & Trust

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.