Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Firstmerit Bank N. a

Platinum Rewards MasterCard Credit Card Agreement and Disclosures

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Platinum Rewards MasterCard Credit Card Agreement and Disclosures
Introductory APR0% for 12 months
Balance transfer APR13.49%
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $15 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer fee3% of the amount of each transfer.
Grace period25 days
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

On the record for Platinum Rewards MasterCard Credit Card Agreement and Disclosures: a 12-month 0% opening period, filed by Firstmerit Bank N. a.

What the document actually states

Platinum Rewards MasterCard Credit Card Agreement and Disclosures is one of the agreements Firstmerit Bank N. a has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs seven pages.

On the record here: a balance transfer rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a penalty rate are not stated.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

What the promotional rate is worth

This agreement opens at 0% for 12 months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.

Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.

The filing captures the promotional rate but not the rate that replaces it. That is the more important of the two numbers, and it is not on this page — the agreement itself has to be read for it.

Charges beyond interest

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $15 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater.

The transfer fee is 3% of the amount transferred; transferred balances then run at 13.49%. Shifting $7,500 across attracts something like $225 in fees on day one.

Spending abroad costs an extra 3% — about $60 on $2,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

When a payment is late

Late payments are capped at $25 under this filing, about the 32nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The grace period

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, an annual fee and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Inside Firstmerit Bank N. a's filed lineup

Firstmerit Bank N. a has 3 agreements indexed on this site.

Go to the source

The original filing, 7 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Firstmerit Bank N. a filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Firstmerit Bank N. a, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Firstmerit Bank N. a

Other cards from Firstmerit Bank N. a

All 3 agreements from Firstmerit Bank N. a

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.