Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Preferred Credit

Retail Charge Agreement CA28 R

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 21.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Retail Charge Agreement CA28 R
Purchase APR21.99%
Late payment feeup to $15
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0.5

Analysis

Preferred Credit's filed agreement for Retail Charge Agreement CA28 R discloses a 21.99% purchase APR. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 49th percentile.

What the agreement puts on the record

The document behind this page is Preferred Credit's filed agreement for Retail Charge Agreement CA28 R. The filing runs five pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

Pricing the purchase rate

Measured against every other filing on the site, 21.99% is about the 49th percentile for purchase APR; it sits close to the middle of the corpus.

The cost of carrying a balance

The purchase rate turns a $1,500 revolving balance into roughly $369 of annual interest.

With the corpus median at 21.99%, the cost is effectively indistinguishable from the typical agreement here.

Note the $0.50 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Penalty pricing and late fees

$15 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 11th percentile of the set.

Paying in full

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $0.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Against the rest of Preferred Credit's filings

124 separate Preferred Credit filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 17.99% to 21.99%, and this one at 21.99% is more expensive than 84 of them.

Reading the agreement yourself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — five pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

21.99% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Preferred Credit filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Preferred Credit, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Preferred Credit

Other cards from Preferred Credit

All 124 agreements from Preferred Credit

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.