Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 9.49%–17.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Cash advance APR | 9.49% |
| Penalty APR | 17.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Texas Dow Employees Credit Union's filed agreement for Credit Builder Mastercard Application 10 2024 discloses a purchase APR of 9.49%–17.99%, no annual fee, a 0% opening rate and a 17.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 28th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
On the face of the filing
Credit Builder Mastercard Application 10 2024 is one of the agreements Texas Dow Employees Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs 15 pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A balance transfer rate, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period are not stated.
Zero percent, and then what
The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.
Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.
What matters more than the promotion is the rate waiting behind it: 17.99%. A $2,500 balance that survives the promotional window costs roughly $493 a year from that point on.
The purchase APR against the corpus
Purchases price between 9.49% and 17.99% under this filing. The 8.5-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.
The floor of that band sits at about the 8th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 28th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
The arithmetic of revolving
At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $197 in interest.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $246 on that balance; this one is roughly $49 a year below it.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $14.89.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
When a payment is late
A penalty APR of 17.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 12th percentile.
$25 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 32nd percentile of the set.
What the card costs before you borrow
No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 9.49%.
Inside Texas Dow Employees Credit Union's filed lineup
There are 14 filings from Texas Dow Employees Credit Union in this index. The others all file the same 17.99% purchase rate. Whatever separates these products, it is not the cost of borrowing.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
The original filing, 15 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
At 17.99% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Texas Dow Employees Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Texas Dow Employees Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Texas Dow Employees Credit Union
-
Buc ees Platinum Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 13.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Business Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Classic Mastercard Application 10
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Classic Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- 1 9 26 AMP Level B Cardholder Agreement17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Cash Back Credit Card14.74%–17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Credit Card12.49%–17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Rewards…13.99%–17.99%
- CAMPUS USA Credit Union Pricing Addendum 0411.9%–17.99%
- Cash Rewards Credit Card Agreement and…14.74%–17.99%