Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 9.49%–17.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% |
| Cash advance APR | 9.49% |
| Penalty APR | 17.99% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Texas Dow Employees Credit Union's filed agreement for Credit Builder Mastercard Disclosure discloses a purchase APR of 9.49%–17.99%, no annual fee, a 0% opening rate and a 17.99% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 28th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from Texas Dow Employees Credit Union's CFPB filing for Credit Builder Mastercard Disclosure. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs 12 pages.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a balance transfer rate, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period.
Zero percent, and then what
A 0% promotional rate appears in the document without an accompanying term — the length of the window is not captured.
About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.
What matters more than the promotion is the rate waiting behind it: 17.99%. A $1,000 balance that survives the promotional window costs roughly $197 a year from that point on.
Where the purchase APR sits
This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 9.49% to 17.99%, a spread of 8.5 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.
Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 8th percentile at the bottom and the 28th at the top.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
What a balance actually costs
Put $1,200 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $236.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $295 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $59 cheaper for the same debt.
Month to month it reads as about $17.87 per cycle on that balance.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
When a payment is late
A penalty APR of 17.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 12th percentile.
The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
Fees, and what triggers them
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 9.49%.
Against the rest of Texas Dow Employees Credit Union's filings
14 separate Texas Dow Employees Credit Union filings appear in the corpus. Every one of the others that discloses a purchase rate discloses the same 17.99%, so the issuer's filings are near-identical on pricing and the differences between its cards lie outside the rate table.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
The document itself
The original filing, 12 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.99% on purchases is near enough to typical.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Texas Dow Employees Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Texas Dow Employees Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Texas Dow Employees Credit Union
-
Buc ees Platinum Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 13.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Business Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Classic Mastercard Application 10
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Classic Mastercard Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.49%–17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- 1 9 26 AMP Level B Cardholder Agreement17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Cash Back Credit Card14.74%–17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Credit Card12.49%–17.99%
- APGFCU Visa Platinum Preferred Rewards…13.99%–17.99%
- CAMPUS USA Credit Union Pricing Addendum 0411.9%–17.99%
- Cash Rewards Credit Card Agreement and…14.74%–17.99%