Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 17.99% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Tropical Financial Credit Union's filed agreement for Full credit card agreement discloses no annual fee and a 17.99% penalty rate.
What the document actually states
Tropical Financial Credit Union filed this agreement for Full credit card agreement with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs eight pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.
The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
The fee structure
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $5,000 of overseas spending that is $50, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
The downside terms
If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 17.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 12th percentile.
$25 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 32nd percentile of the set.
The grace period
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
There are 11 filings from Tropical Financial Credit Union in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 16.99% to 17.99%, though this particular filing does not state one in comparable form.
What is outside the disclosure
This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, anything about cash advances and balance transfer terms, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Reading the agreement yourself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — eight pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Tropical Financial Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Tropical Financial Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Tropical Financial Credit Union
-
Full credit card agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Full credit card agreement 03
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 17.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Full credit card agreement 04
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 8.99%–16.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Full credit card agreement 04
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 8.99%–16.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.