Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 9.9%–16.9% |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 12 months |
| Cash advance APR | 9.9% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $10 |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Cash advance fee | 3% of amount |
| Grace period | 21 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The Credit Card filing from Advancial Federal Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 9.9%–16.9%, no annual fee and a 12-month 0% opening period. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 20th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What the document actually states
What follows is drawn entirely from Advancial Federal Credit Union's CFPB filing for Credit Card. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
The interest-free window
This agreement opens at 0% for 12 months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.
Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.
The go-to rate is 16.9%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $460 a year on $2,500.
Put the other way round, the 12-month zero rate is worth roughly $460 on a $2,500 balance relative to paying the go-to rate from day one — a real figure, but one that only materialises for someone who was going to carry that balance anyway.
The purchase rate in context
This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 9.9% to 16.9%, a spread of 7 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.
Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 10th percentile at the bottom and the 20th at the top.
To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.
The arithmetic of revolving
A $3,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $552 in interest at this purchase rate.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $738 on that balance; this one is roughly $185 a year below it.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $41.95.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Fees, and what triggers them
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of 3% and a cash advance APR of 9.9%.
No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.
When a payment is late
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $10, which is around the 6th percentile here.
Paying in full
21 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
Advancial Federal Credit Union has 7 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 14.9% to 16.9%; this filing's 16.9% sits above 1 of the comparable ones.
The limits of this document
This page cannot tell you balance transfer terms and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Where the authority sits
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, one page of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
At 16.9% the purchase rate is low relative to this corpus, which is the clearest thing the filing has going for it on cost.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Advancial Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Advancial Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Advancial Federal Credit Union
-
Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.9%–16.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Visa Credit Card Rates and Fees
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 8.9%–14.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.