Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

American Express National Bank

Delta SkyMiles Platinum American Express Card Cardmember Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Delta SkyMiles Platinum American Express Card Cardmember Agreement
Penalty APR26.74%
Annual fee$350
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
NetworkAmex

Analysis

American Express National Bank prices Delta SkyMiles Platinum American Express Card Cardmember Agreement as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.

On the face of the filing

Delta SkyMiles Platinum American Express Card Cardmember Agreement is one of the agreements American Express National Bank has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Amex network and the filing runs 12 pages.

The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Margins, not APRs

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

As read from the document: 26.74 points for penalty pricing.

Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

The no-interest path

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

What a missed payment costs

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $350, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 98th percentile.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

Against the rest of American Express National Bank's filings

There are 25 filings from American Express National Bank in this index.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 16 of 24 come in below this card's $350.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and balance transfer terms. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 12 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement American Express National Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by American Express National Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to American Express National Bank

Other cards from American Express National Bank

All 25 agreements from American Express National Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.