Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
The purchase rate was read from a row the document did not label explicitly, so it carries more uncertainty than the other figures here.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 26.74% |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $150 |
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Network | Amex |
Analysis
Pricing in American Express National Bank's American Express Green Card Cardmember Agreement agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.
What this filing discloses
American Express National Bank submitted the terms for American Express Green Card Cardmember Agreement to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Amex network and the filing runs 11 pages.
Terms captured from the document include a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
The row carrying the purchase rate is unlabelled in the original document; it is reported here as the most likely purchase figure rather than a certain one.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
What this agreement discloses is a set of margins added to the Prime Rate. Until Prime is supplied, none of these figures is an APR, and this page will not treat them as one.
The filing's margin figures come to 26.74 points for penalty pricing.
No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
What a missed payment costs
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.
What the card costs before you borrow
$150 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 96th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.
No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.
Inside American Express National Bank's filed lineup
American Express National Bank has 25 agreements indexed on this site.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 11 of 24 come in below this card's $150.
What you cannot learn from the filing
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 11 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
What can be said is how this card is priced, not what it costs. That distinction is the whole of the analysis here, and the agreement is the place to confirm the index it uses.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement American Express National Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by American Express National Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from American Express National Bank
-
American Express Cash Magnet Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2.7%
-
American Express Gold Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $325
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Amex EveryDay Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 2.7%
-
Amex EveryDay Preferred Card Cardmember Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $95
- Foreign tx fee
- 2.7%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.