Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Bank of America

Bank of America Premium Rewards English

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Bank of America Premium Rewards English
Penalty APR29.99%
Late payment feeup to $41
Cash advance fee5% % of Transaction Same-Day Online
Grace period25 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The Bank of America Premium Rewards English filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.

On the face of the filing

This page covers the agreement Bank of America filed for Bank of America Premium Rewards English. The filing runs 11 pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

The disclosure covers a penalty rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Margins, not APRs

Pricing here is disclosed in the form "Prime plus a margin". The numbers in this document are therefore the margin component only, and cannot be read as the cost of borrowing on their own.

The filing's margin figures come to 29.99 points for penalty pricing.

The practical consequence is that this card has no single disclosed price. The cost of carrying a balance moves whenever the Prime Rate moves, in lockstep and without notice, and no arithmetic on this page can tell you what it costs today.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

Charges beyond interest

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of 5%.

The grace period

The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest.

Penalty pricing and late fees

The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Inside Bank of America's filed lineup

This is one of 32 Bank of America agreements collected here.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 11 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bank of America filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Bank of America, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Bank of America

Other cards from Bank of America

All 32 agreements from Bank of America

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.