Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
|---|---|
| Foreign transaction fee | 5% |
| Cash advance fee | 5% % of Transaction Same-Day Online |
| Grace period | 25 days |
Analysis
The BankAmericard English filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.
On the face of the filing
Bank of America filed this agreement for BankAmericard English with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 11 pages.
The filing is explicit about a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
Margins, not APRs
The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.
This structure makes the card impossible to price from the filing in isolation — and deliberately so. The rate is whatever Prime is when the statement closes, plus the margin above.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
Charges beyond interest
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of 5%.
Spending abroad costs an extra 5% — about $75 on $1,500 of purchases, independent of interest.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 99th percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
When a payment is late
$41 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 89th percentile of the set.
Paying in full
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
Against the rest of Bank of America's filings
There are 32 filings from Bank of America in this index.
The limits of this document
This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Go to the source
The original filing, 11 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bank of America filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Bank of America, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Bank of America
-
Air France KLM Visa Signature English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Allways Rewards Visa English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Atmos Rewards Ascent Visa Signature English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
-
Atmos Rewards Summit Visa Infinite English
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Terms
- Not disclosed in filing
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.