Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Bellco Credit Union

BCU Pricing Addendum eff

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 13%–21%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for BCU Pricing Addendum eff
Purchase APR13%–21% (variable)
Introductory APR0%
Cash advance APR21%
Penalty APRNone, per the filing
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Cash advance fee$75) Up to 1% of each transaction in U.S. dollars.
Balance transfer fee$0
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

On the record for BCU Pricing Addendum eff 7 1 22: a purchase APR of 13%–21%, no annual fee and a 0% opening rate, filed by Bellco Credit Union. That purchase rate ranks near the 46th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What this filing discloses

BCU Pricing Addendum eff 7 1 22 is one of the agreements Bellco Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.

One important caveat sits on top of everything else here: the rate table in this filing covers more than one product. Figures shown on this page may belong to a sibling card in the same table rather than to this one, and only the PDF can settle which row applies.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.

Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.

Behind the promotion sits a 21% purchase rate. On $1,000 that is in the region of $234 a year once the window closes.

Where the purchase APR sits

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 13% to 21%. That 8-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 23rd percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 46th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.

What the rate means in dollars

A $1,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $234 in interest at this purchase rate.

The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,000 would cost about $246 a year. This filing saves roughly $12 annually against that benchmark.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The fee structure

The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $75 or 1% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 21%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $7,500: below it the flat $75 applies, above it the percentage does.

A balance transfer costs a flat $0 up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances.

Paying in full

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

When a payment is late

The filing explicitly states that no penalty APR applies. That is worth noting: a default on this account does not, by the terms of this document, reprice the whole balance upward.

Late payments are capped at $25 under this filing, about the 32nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

There are 13 filings from Bellco Credit Union in this index. The others all file the same 21% purchase rate. Whatever separates these products, it is not the cost of borrowing.

On fees, 7 of the 8 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Where the authority sits

The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

21% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. The absence of an annual fee means the rate is the only thing that can make this card expensive. The multi-product table is the larger caveat: these numbers are the table's, not necessarily this card's.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bellco Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Bellco Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Bellco Credit Union

Other cards from Bellco Credit Union

All 13 agreements from Bellco Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.