Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 11.5%–21% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 6 months |
| Cash advance APR | 21% |
| Penalty APR | None, per the filing |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 4% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | $0 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Visa Colorado Rewards New Account Disclosure, as filed by Bellco Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 11.5%–21%, no annual fee and a six-month 0% opening period. That purchase rate ranks near the 46th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
What the agreement puts on the record
The document behind this page is Bellco Credit Union's filed agreement for Visa Colorado Rewards New Account Disclosure. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
The interest-free window
This agreement opens at 0% for six months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.
Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.
Behind the promotion sits a 21% purchase rate. On $1,000 that is in the region of $234 a year once the window closes.
Valued honestly, six months at zero on $1,000 avoids about $117 of interest compared with the go-to rate — the whole of what the promotion delivers.
Where the purchase APR sits
Purchases price between 11.5% and 21% under this filing. The 9.5-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.
The floor of that band sits at about the 16th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 46th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
This figure is the post-promotional rate. The introductory pricing is handled separately further down.
What the rate means in dollars
Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $934.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $983 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $49 cheaper for the same debt.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Where the fees are
No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 4% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 21%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $250: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
Transfers are charged a flat $0, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
Grace period and minimum charge
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.
No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.
What a missed payment costs
This agreement records no penalty rate at all. Late payment carries a fee, but not the rate increase that many filings in this corpus permit.
The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
Inside Bellco Credit Union's filed lineup
This is one of 13 Bellco Credit Union agreements collected here. The others all file the same 21% purchase rate. Whatever separates these products, it is not the cost of borrowing.
7 of the issuer's other 8 disclosing filings are likewise fee-free.
What you cannot learn from the filing
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs one page. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
At 21% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Bellco Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Bellco Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Bellco Credit Union
-
BCU Pricing Addendum eff
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 16.75%–21%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
BCU Pricing Addendum eff
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 13%–21%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Bellco Credit Union Credit Cards
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15%–21%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Visa Colorado Rewards Account Disclosure (Increase)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.5%–21%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0.03%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.