Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

City National Bank

Cash Back Visa Signature Credit Card Agreement 65908E

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 15.25%–19.25%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cash Back Visa Signature Credit Card Agreement 65908E
Purchase APR15.25%–19.25% (variable)
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $15
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $5 or 3% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0.7
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The Cash Back Visa Signature Credit Card Agreement 65908E filing from City National Bank sets out a purchase APR of 15.25%–19.25% and no annual fee. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 41st percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the agreement puts on the record

City National Bank filed this agreement for Cash Back Visa Signature Credit Card Agreement 65908E with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 12 pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

Where the purchase APR sits

This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 15.25% to 19.25%, a spread of 4 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.

The floor of that band sits at about the 36th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 41st. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.

What the rate means in dollars

At the disclosed purchase APR, $5,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $1,061 in interest.

A typical filing in this index would charge about $1,229 on that balance; this one is roughly $168 a year below it.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $79.72.

Note the $0.70 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Fees, and what triggers them

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $5 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater.

A balance transfer costs $5 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $5,000 across attracts something like $150 in fees on day one.

The filing sets a 3% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $150 to $5,000 spent outside the United States.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

When a payment is late

Late payments are capped at $15 under this filing, about the 11th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The no-interest path

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

A minimum interest charge of $0.70 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

There are 28 filings from City National Bank in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 19% to 27.25%, and this one at 19.25% is more expensive than 2 of them.

On fees, 22 of the 26 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — 12 pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

At 19.25% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement City National Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by City National Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to City National Bank

Other cards from City National Bank

All 28 agreements from City National Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.