Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Commerce Bank prices BAMSL Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.
What the agreement puts on the record
This page covers the agreement Commerce Bank filed for BAMSL Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.
The disclosure covers a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
Priced off the Prime Rate
The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.
The filing's margin figures come to 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
This structure makes the card impossible to price from the filing in isolation — and deliberately so. The rate is whatever Prime is when the statement closes, plus the margin above.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
The grace period
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
A minimum interest charge of $2.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
What a missed payment costs
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.
The fee structure
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.
Transfers are charged $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Shifting $5,000 across attracts something like $250 in fees on day one.
Foreign transactions attract 2%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
The issuer's other agreements
There are 165 filings from Commerce Bank in this index.
What you cannot learn from the filing
Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and an annual fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Where the authority sits
The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.