Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Pricing in Commerce Bank's Beta Gamma Sigma Rewards Visa Credit Card Pricing Information agreement is expressed relative to the Prime Rate. This review treats those figures as margins, which is what they are, and compares the fee terms that can be compared.
What this filing discloses
What follows is drawn entirely from Commerce Bank's CFPB filing for Beta Gamma Sigma Rewards Visa Credit Card Pricing Information. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.
Terms captured from the document include a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
Priced off the Prime Rate
What this agreement discloses is a set of margins added to the Prime Rate. Until Prime is supplied, none of these figures is an APR, and this page will not treat them as one.
As read from the document: 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
Fees, and what triggers them
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.
A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.
The filing sets a 2% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $30 to $1,500 spent outside the United States.
Penalty pricing and late fees
Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Paying in full
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.
A minimum interest charge of $2.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
The issuer's other agreements
Commerce Bank has 165 agreements indexed on this site.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs one page. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
The honest summary is that this filing discloses a structure rather than a price. The margins are real and comparable to each other; the cost of borrowing is whatever Prime makes it.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.