Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The Boy Scouts of America Visa Credit Card Pricing Information filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.
What this filing discloses
Boy Scouts of America Visa Credit Card Pricing Information is one of the agreements Commerce Bank has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.
The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.
The filing's margin figures come to 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
The fee structure
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.
A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Shifting $2,000 across attracts something like $100 in fees on day one.
The filing sets a 2% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $40 to $2,000 spent outside the United States.
Paying in full
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
A minimum interest charge of $2.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
What a missed payment costs
The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
165 separate Commerce Bank filings appear in the corpus.
What you cannot learn from the filing
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — one page. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.