Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Commerce Bank

NSCS Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for NSCS Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Penalty APR23.99%
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee2%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$2.5
NetworkVisa

Analysis

Commerce Bank prices NSCS Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.

What this filing discloses

NSCS Visa Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information is one of the agreements Commerce Bank has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs one page.

On the record here: a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

A margin over Prime, not a rate

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

The margins captured from the filing are 23.99 points for penalty pricing.

Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Charges beyond interest

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.

A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. On $3,000 that fee is about $150 before any interest is charged.

Foreign transactions attract 2%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

What a missed payment costs

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

Paying in full

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

The issuer's other agreements

This is one of 165 Commerce Bank agreements collected here.

What the filing does not tell you

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate and an annual fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

The document itself

The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Commerce Bank

Other cards from Commerce Bank

All 165 agreements from Commerce Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.