Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Commerce Bank prices SCNA Visa Signature Credit Card Pricing Information as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.
What the agreement puts on the record
Commerce Bank filed this agreement for SCNA Visa Signature Credit Card Pricing Information with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
How this filing expresses its pricing
This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.
The filing's margin figures come to 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
Because the filing prices off an index, the dollar cost of a balance cannot be computed from the document alone. It is the current Prime Rate that completes the sum, and that changes.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
The no-interest path
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $2.50. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
Penalty pricing and late fees
Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Where the fees are
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.
Transfers are charged $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. On $1,000 that fee is about $50 before any interest is charged.
Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $100 on $5,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
The issuer's other agreements
165 separate Commerce Bank filings appear in the corpus.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
What can be said is how this card is priced, not what it costs. That distinction is the whole of the analysis here, and the agreement is the place to confirm the index it uses.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.