Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 23.99% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2.5 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The William & Mary Alumni Association Visa Pricing Information filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.
What the agreement puts on the record
The document behind this page is Commerce Bank's filed agreement for William & Mary Alumni Association Visa Pricing Information. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The disclosure covers a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.
Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
What this agreement discloses is a set of margins added to the Prime Rate. Until Prime is supplied, none of these figures is an APR, and this page will not treat them as one.
The margins captured from the filing are 23.99 points for penalty pricing.
No cost illustration appears in this section for a reason: multiplying a margin by a balance produces a meaningless number. The real rate is Prime plus the margin, and Prime is not in this document.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
The fee structure
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater.
A balance transfer costs $10 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. Transferring $3,000 would cost roughly $150 at the door.
Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $60 on $3,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
Default pricing
Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Grace period and minimum charge
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.
A minimum interest charge of $2.50 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
Against the rest of Commerce Bank's filings
165 separate Commerce Bank filings appear in the corpus.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — one page. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Commerce Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Commerce Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Commerce Bank
-
*pricing Information for Affinity Rewards Credit Card
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AACS Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
AARN Visa Signature Rewards Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Anvil Brand Visa Credit Card Pricing Information
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.