Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 18.4% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 27.4% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 4% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
Analysis
The FSB Prime M 141594 online coversheet filing from First Savings Bank sets out a 18.4% purchase APR and no annual fee. That purchase rate ranks near the 39th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
On the face of the filing
FSB Prime M 141594 online coversheet is one of the agreements First Savings Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs six pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
How the purchase rate compares
Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 18.4% — sits at approximately the 39th percentile and sits below the middle of the distribution.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
The arithmetic of revolving
The purchase rate turns a $1,000 revolving balance into roughly $202 of annual interest.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $246 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $44 cheaper for the same debt.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $15.23.
Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
The fee structure
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 4% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 27.4%. Cash is therefore 9 points dearer than buying something with the card. The two halves of that fee cross at about $250: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
The filing sets a 2% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $20 to $1,000 spent outside the United States.
The downside terms
Late payments are capped at $25 under this filing, about the 32nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
The no-interest path
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $1. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
The issuer's other agreements
First Savings Bank has 6 agreements indexed on this site. Pricing across this issuer's filings is uniform at 29.9% — the rate table does not distinguish one of its cards from another.
What the filing does not tell you
Absent from the captured terms: balance transfer terms and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — six pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
At 18.4% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement First Savings Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by First Savings Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from First Savings Bank
-
Blclr D 0525(afti)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.9%
- Annual fee
- $75
-
Hue49af D 0525 (afti)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.9%
- Annual fee
- $49
-
Hue49mf D 0724 (afti)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.9%
- Annual fee
- $49
-
Hue75mf D 0724 (afti)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.9%
- Annual fee
- $75
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.